About Burke

Burke has provided care for East Texans since it was established in 1974 as Deep East Texas Mental Health and Mental Retardation Services. Burke is a 501(c)(3), non-profit organization governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees. We have grown from a small organization offering limited services to a major behavioral health provider, serving over 10,000 people annually through a variety of mental health, intellectual and developmental disabilities, and early childhood intervention services.

Burke’s mission is to provide the highest-quality and most compassionate and comprehensive mental health and developmental disability services to individuals in East Texas.

The organization’s namesakes, Ward and Annabelle Burke, have been tireless advocates for people with mental illness or intellectual and developmental disabilities and were instrumental in making community care possible in Texas.

One of thirty-nine community centers in Texas, Burke provides services in a twelve-county region that includes Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, and Tyler counties.  

Get to Know us!

Read the biographies of our Executive Staff

Melanie Taylor
Chief Executive Officer

James Smith
Chief Clinical Officer

David Baker
Chief Financial Officer